Sit Back, Relax a While

Give my men music at work, or give me no production.

-Abe Lincoln, 1937

Sometimes when I’m at work, I’m in the mood to listen to shitty rap. Or un-shitty rap. I’m not ashamed of it, I actually embrace it. Since my cubicle hides me from sight of anyone else in my row of offices, I can actually dance around pretty stealthily. I highly suggest this if you don’t do it already – it really boosts morale. Then there’s the occasional indie hits that I have saved away in some obscurely named YouTube mix, which I just bounce around to until my co-worker asks me if the fruit I brought to work had too much sugar or was drugged. Other times, I need to hear all of George Strait’s hits all in a row to the point where I convince myself that I am actually from Texas or Georgia or somewhere else and like someone with Alzheimer’s, I try to stop doing work and instead prance around asking people for a ride to my farm that I don’t own. And even other times all I want is a 96 song-long playlist by Bob Seger, because let’s face it – he and I have a connection.

bob

Anyway, today I’ve been filling my morning up with this – lovin’ this person’s style. “Earth Tones” is GREAT, and so is Hpnotic718 [DeLoreanMusic], just like everything else this guy has (that I have listened to so far anyway). I highly encourage you to take some time this Friday to sit back, turn this on, and close your eyes for a few minutes – especially if you’re from upper michigan and slightly furious about the snow that is still coming down. Here is the view from my office window like 5 minutes ago:

Young_steer_after_blizzard

So go on, grab a High Life or mix a gin & tonic, find a house that is not at a balmy 50 degrees F (…anyone wanna take me in until the weather gets up??) or else unpack your flannel blanket, sit back and think of the beautiful days yet to come.

sunrise_twinlakes
summer mornings are priceless…worth the wait

Leave a Reply

