Honest Abe Would be Proud of You

Honest Abe always tell the truth - we can all learn from him.
Honest Abe always tell the truth – we can all learn from him.

Did you know today is Honesty Day? Really! I actually never knew that such a day existed (shouldn’t we be honest all days?). As you can read on Wikipedia:

It was invented by M. Hirsh Goldberg, who chose the last day of April since the first day of that month, which is April Fools’ Day, celebrates falsehoods.[1][2][3] On this day, anyone participating may ask any question they choose and the opposing person should give a truthful and straightforward answer.

To be honest, I have had some trouble with honesty in the past – from bigger things to even just little white lies that we all tell

  • Yes, I finished that proposal! I submitted, like, last week.
  • No, I didn’t eat the last pieces of bacon that were in the fridge. I knew those were yours! I wouldn’t do that.
  • Wow Aunt Martha, these beets taste really good. Beets are my favorite.
  • What a great picture of your baby…he’s so….pretty.

baby

  • I think you’re a great person, too. I’ll call you next week.
  • Oh sorry, I didn’t get your text. My phone died. Then fell into the ocean. At which point I saw it get swallowed by a shark with a laser on its head. Which was then caught by a shrimping boat, which spontaneously combusted. I’ll let you know when I get a new phone.

I have made it a big resolution of mine to be more honest. not only to others, but to myself as well. And I would like to think that I am making some good progress.

Anyway, in honor of Honesty Day, let’s make sure to spread some honest love and cheer – or, if you’d rather, get out some of those honest comments you may have been bottling up that might not be so endearing. The choice is yours! Blame it on Honesty Day.

2 thoughts on “Honest Abe Would be Proud of You

Leave a Reply

