And I don’t know how they slipped away from me

john prine

a good little tune for a Tuesday…John’s worn and cracked voice never detracts me from listening to his more recent performances; it only adds to it.

Video: John Prine performing Souvenirs

for your convenience, here are the lyrics:
All the snow has turned to water
Christmas days have come and gone
Broken toys and faded colors
Are all that’s left to linger on
I hate graveyards and old pawn shops
For they always bring me tears
I can’t forgive the way they rob me
Of my childhood souvenirs

Memories they can’t be boughten
They can’t be won at carnivals for free
Well it took me years
To get those souvenirs
And I don’t know how they slipped away from me

Broken hearts and dirty windows
Make life difficult to see
That’s why last night and this mornin’
Always look the same to me

I hate reading old love letters
For they always bring me tears
I can’t forgive the way they rob me
Of my sweetheart’s souvenirs

Memories they can’t be boughten
They can’t be won at carnivals for free
Well it took me years
To get those souvenirs
And I don’t know how they slipped away from me

2 thoughts on “And I don’t know how they slipped away from me

  1. I did a “John Prine” tag search and your posts are popping up all over the place. I saw Prine in concert 6 times between 1986-1990 (when he was in his “Oh Boy” prime and tickets cost around $10). I’m tickled pink he has gained such a following over the years. I would love to see him again, but I can’t see plunking down that kind of money – even if he is still John Prine.

    Like

    1. Wow! I have only seen him once but I have been listening to him for years. He is definitely one of my favorites. Not only a great musical artist, but a great storyteller.

      Like

Leave a Reply

