SPRING! Frühjahr! kevät!

You know the feeling I LOVE!? Being outside, when it’s warm and the sun is out, and I’m hopping around (or if you’re normal, unlike me, you are probably walking) in a tshirt, and there is still snow on the ground. It’s getting warmer, but the feeling of shedding some layers and being warm with leftovers of winter chilling out (haha, chilling + winter = get it!?!?), is a great feeling…it means…

IT’S SPRING!
And it has been lately! The sun has been shining, the snow is melting, and I am re-charging and feeling more upbeat than ever! Energy is back in my body, and although I am sad to see the snow leave (no more skiing! no more snowboarding! no more snowshoeing! no more butt sliding!), I am more amped than an 80s ACDC concert to get outside in the beautiful weather.

Image
Dramatization: me in spring- “SPRING IS F&#(*%) BACK”

I mean, I love winter, but sometimes it just gets ya a little down once in a while…

Image

Soon enough there will be swimming, sunsets, longer hours of daylight, camping, flowers blooming, random frolicking, picnics, hiking, fishing, fires, playing and driving in the mud, weekend adventures…..

Image

Anyway, before I go into an excitement spasm – which I have been known to do – in honor of spring, here are just a couple of spring round-ups to get you JUST AS AMPED as I am. There only a few listed, so make sure to stop by later in the week for the complete round-up.

Image

When spring came, even the false spring, there were no problems except where to be happiest. The only thing that could spoil a day was people and if you could keep from making engagements, each day had no limits. People were always the limiters of happiness except for the very few that were as good as spring itself.

Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast

Some upbeat beats to make you get up and feel good

And some plain, simple, cheap ideas that you probably haven’t done in a while. Grab a friend!

  • Fly a kite
  • Go to a beach, once the sand starts popping out
  • Plan (and then have) a picnic
  • Climb a friggin tree…bonus points if you build (or already have!) a treehouse
  • Blow some bubbles…bonus points if you get those HUGE ones

article-1204195-05F1C719000005DC-747_964x580

That’s probably enough for now, stay tuned for another post later this week full of spring essentials – from the best rubber boots for puddle jumping, the perfect outdoors chairs for relaxing, the best random spring items for using (such a detailed description), and some great DIY projects to make spring even better (if that’s even possible).

blue skies
blue skies

And, I gotta say I am a LITTLE sad with the lack of comments I have been getting…I know you people are out there reading this! My daily stats even say so! So even if you do it anonymously, let me know – what’s your favorite part about spring? Could be an activity, your favorite flower, a place you like going once the snow melts – whatever. Whoever comments, gets a special surprise…like maybe an old Christmas tree. Or perhaps a cup of coffee with russell brand and me. Or maybe a new pencil! I love pencils.

2 thoughts on “SPRING! Frühjahr! kevät!

Leave a Reply

